Latest COVID-19 business restrictions around Australia

The situation across Australia is evolving very quickly at the moment. Links below link directly to local authority websites.

COVID-19 business restrictions are implemented by your state or territory government. Stay up-to-date on the latest restrictions in your area.

NHVR Coronavirus (COVID-19) response page

Queensland border requirements

Freight and logistics operators can continue to operate under the existing QLD Freight Protocol and NSW border zone arrangements without changes.

Please ensure that you follow the current requirements as per the Transport and Main Roads Heavy Vehicle Unit – COVID update

Victoria curfew update

Due to the ongoing level of community transmission of coronavirus in Victoria, the current lockdown across Melbourne will be extended and a curfew will be put in place across metropolitan Melbourne. The curfew imposed will commenced on Monday evening 16 August from 9pm to 5am every night during the extended curfew until 11.59pm on the 2nd September.

Essential workers must carry their authorised worker permit or specified worker (low interaction) permit with them at all times while carrying out essential freight operations.

Please ensure you follow the current health directions and practice the appropriate social distancing and mandatory mask requirements when working.

Further details can be found here in the Victorian Freight and Logistics Industry COVD-19 update – 16 August.

Click through for full details and updates state by state.

State and territory information, grants and assistance

Learn about the grants or online events delivered by your state or territory and where you can go to find more coronavirus assistance.

Along with the assistance the Australian Government has announced, you may be eligible for assistance from your State or Territory Government.

Each Australian state and territory has different financial help, restrictions and assistance for businesses affected by the coronavirus, so it’s important to stay up-to-date with new announcements.

Find out more (

Read below for information and links to each State or Territory COVID response website. (Updated 10.00am 17-8-21)

Australian Capital Territory

  • Essential Workers and workplaces are defined under the essential providers list.
  • The current lockdown restrictions came into effect from 5:00pm Thursday 12 August 2021, initially for 7 days, however has been extended until at least 2 September.
  • Anyone aged 12 years and over must wear a mask at all times upon leaving home.
  • Essential retail will remain open for the duration of the lockdown.
  • If you can work from home, you must work from home.

Find out more

New South Wales

  • Employers statewide must allow an employee to work from home if it is reasonably practicable to do so.
  • If you cannot work from home and you go to your workplace, you must wear a face mask (unless an exemption applies).
  • The current stay at home rules applies to people who live in, usually work in Greater Sydney including the Blue Mountains, Central Coast, Wollongong and Shellharbour local government areas.
  • The stay at home rules apply all parts of regional and rural NSW, including those parts of regional and rural NSW which were subject to stay at home rules before 5pm on 14 August 2021. 
  • In Greater Sydney, when you leave home, you must carry a face mask with you at all times.
  • You must wear a face mask in specified situations.

Find out more

Northern Territory

  • All businesses are required to lodge a COVID-19 Safety Plan by filling out the relevant checklists available.
  • Effective from 12.01pm on Monday 16 August 2021, the following areas entered a full lockdown for 72 hours – City of Darwin, City of Palmerston, Litchfield Council, Wagait Shire, Belyuen Shire, Dundee, Bynoe, Charlotte, Cox Peninsula, Municipality of Katherine including Tindal.
  • Wearing a face mask is mandatory for all activities outside of your home.

Find out more


  • All businesses must operate under the COVID Safe Framework.
  • As of 4pm AEST Wednesday 11 August, until 4pm AEST Sunday 22 August, 2 Local Government Areas in Far North Queensland and 11 Local Government Areas in South East Queensland will be subject to continued restrictions. These LGAs are declared impacted areas and include – Cairns Regional Council, City of Brisbane, Moreton Bay Regional Council, City of Gold Coast, City of Ipswich, Lockyer Valley Regional Council, Logan City, Noosa Shire Council, Redland City, Scenic Rim Regional Council, Somerset Regional Council, Sunshine Coast Regional Council, Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council.
  • Face mask wearing is mandatory in certain indoor and outdoor settings.
  • Current Queensland border restrictions.

Find out more

South Australia

Find out more


  • All businesses and workplaces are permitted to operate, but must implement measures to meet the minimum COVID-19 safety standards and record this in a COVID-19 Safety plan.
  • Current Tasmanian border restrictions.

Find out more


  • You must work from home if your workplace is not authorised to open or operate.  
  • The Victorian Government has announced the current lockdown will be extended and a curfew put in place until 11.59pm on Thursday, 2 September.
  • Face mask wearing is mandatory in certain indoor and outdoor settings.

Find out more

Western Australia

Find out more

Source:; State & Territory authority COVID-19 response websites

Get the jab – COVID-19 Vaccination Eligibility Checker

Get your COVID jab zoom background here.

ROVER how-to videos other important RVSA and RAV info

The Department of Infrastructure has released new guidance material for the RVSA including determinations, three ROVER “how to” videos, three…

Model Reports for Heavy Trailers on the Agenda

Model Reports are a new tool that have been introduced by the Road Vehicles Standards Act to assist in demonstrating…

Follow Us