Border controls and travel restrictions

Several State and Territory Governments have put in place border controls to limit the spread of the Coronavirus.

New South Wales, Victoria and the ACT have not closed their borders, however they are recommending people reduce non-essential travel and they are impacted by border closures by neighbouring states.

The border control arrangements include mandatory 14 day isolation for people crossing borders.

However, as HVIA has indicated previously, these controls do provide exemptions for essential services such as movement of freight.

The Government has confirmed that maintenance and engineering activities related to freight are also considered essential services.

If you need to travel across borders for your work you need to understand how these controls work and what you need to do to obtain an exemption.

The following information pages provide more detail on the arrangement in each State:

Overseas Travel is also currently restricted – The latest information is available on the Department of Home Affairs website.

Your actions will save lives

This animation from the Federal Government illustrates how we can reduce the spread of Coronavirus with simple decisions that affect…

Prime Minister’s strongest performance on saving lives and saving business

The National Cabinet met today to take further action to slow the spread of Coronavirus to save lives, and to…

Follow Us