Innovation and commitment celebrated at HVIA National Awards Breakfast

Heavy Vehicle Industry Australia (HVIA) today announced the winners of a suite of awards, for leadership and innovation, in the heavy vehicle sector.

Speaking at the event in Brisbane, Assistant Minister for Road Safety and Freight Transport, Scott Buchholz announced the HVIA’s Safety Innovation Award winner.

Mr Buchholz said the HVIA awards acknowledged and celebrated the industry’s hard-working members, who continued to excel in providing innovative solutions to improve safety and productivity in the road transport sector.

“The COVID-19 pandemic has placed unprecedented pressure on Australia’s freight and logistics sector. Our national economy relies on keeping freight moving.

“A lot of work goes into making sure that happens and during the pandemic, the industry rose to the challenge.

“Again today, I congratulate the entire heavy vehicle industry; transport operators, manufacturers, repairers and drivers on a job well done. Through your joint efforts you have ensured that our trucks and trailers have stayed on the road and freight kept moving,” Mr Buchholz said.

HVIA CEO Todd Hacking, echoed these sentiments, “Whilst 2020 has been a tough year for all, it is more important than ever to celebrate and acknowledge all of our nominees. 

“All of them have demonstrated a commitment to safety, innovation, and technological advancement, to improve productivity and keep freight moving safely”, Mr Hacking said.

Mr Buchholz congratulated award recipients in all categories:

  • National Apprentice of the Year Award
    • Joel Dunstan, The Brown & Hurley Group Winner
    • Ashley Beeby, Cummins High Achievement Award
  • Peter Langworthy Future Leader Award John Jackson, Brimarco
  • Community Leadership Award
    • MaxiTRANS Industries – R U OK / Drought Aid
  • Product Innovation Award
    • Tiger Spider – Hevi Spec/Spider Path
  • Safety Innovation Award
    • Jost Australia – SK42ASW Pneumatically Operated Sensor Fifth-Wheel
  • Industry Recognition Award – Mr Rob Perkins

Profiles of all the winners are linked here:

Assistant Minister for Road Safety and Freight Transport, Scott Buchholz presented Jost with HVIA’s Safety Innovation Award

“It gives me great pleasure today, to announce the winner of the Safety Innovation Award  – JOST Australia,” Mr Buchholz announced at the breakfast.

JOST Australia won the award for developing a Pneumatically Operated Sensor Fifth Wheel, which reduces the likelihood of a dropped trailer, which can cause serious injury.

“Innovating in new technologies, to make our heavy transport industry safer is a big credit to JOST Australia.

“I congratulate the entire team on their efforts in developing this technology, which will reduce the risk of injury and increase accessibility for drivers

“The Australian Government has a strong focus on improving safety in the industry, through programs such as the Heavy Vehicle Safety Initiative, which provides $5.9 million in Round 5 for twenty-six projects,” Mr Buchholz said.

National Apprentice of the Year Joel Dunstan (2nd from right) with his supervisor at Brown and Hurley Cameron Behn, pictured with award sponsor Doug Warby (left) and HVIA CEO Todd Hacking (right)
50 year members – Presentations were also made to representatives of six companies who were founding members of (formerly CVIAQ). Pictured: John Drake (HVIA President) with Geoff Buswell (Iveco Trucks Australia), Craig Lee (Penske Australia), Mark Johnston (Haulmark Trailers), Janice O’Connor (Russ Engineering), Rodney Barron (Volvo Group Australia), Kerry Wood (BPW Transpec) and the Hon Scott Buchholz

The awards are open to HVIA member companies and their employees, across Australia. Full details of each award can be found at

Government commences work on AVV scheme

The Department of Infrastructure has commenced working through the details of the proposed Authorised Vehicle Verifier (AVV) Scheme. HVIA's National…

2020 HVIA National Award Winners

HVIA's 2020 National Awards were presented at the Emporium South Brisbane this morning and broadcast live around the country. Each…

Follow Us