Celebrating HVIA Membership for 50 years

Six members of Heavy Vehicle Industry Australia are being celebrated for fifty years of continuous membership.

HVIA President John Drake said that today, the 26th of August 2020 marks the 50th anniversary of the Constitutional signing of the Commercial Vehicle Industry Association of Queensland (CVIAQ); the same governing document adopted by the members of HVIA upon its formation five years ago.

“I believe it is absolutely necessary as we reflect on the legacy of the organisation, to make mention and pay tribute to the six initial members of HVIA who joined in 1970,” Mr Drake said. 

The six members that have been continuous members for the past 50 years are:

  • Haulmark Trailers (Australia) Pty Ltd
  • IVECO Trucks Australia Ltd
  • BPW Transpec Pty Ltd
  • Volvo Group Australia Pty Ltd
  • Russ Engineering Pty Ltd
  • Penske Transport Group International Pty Ltd.

“I want to take this opportunity to thank each of these organisations for their ongoing support and loyalty,” Mr Drake added. 

“Fifty years of continuous membership is rare and a feat worthy of the highest praise and acknowledgement from HVIA and their peers.”

Former CVIAQ President Mark Johnston of Haulmark Trailers said the organisation’s formation was a very important step in the development and professionalism of the industry.

“The founders and early members of the CVIAQ had great vision and passion for the industry,“ Mr Johnston said.

“Undoubtedly, the true value of this association is watching a room full of industry competitors all working together for the common good of the industry, not the individual.”

Michael May, Managing Director of Iveco Trucks (Australia & New Zealand) said “We continue to be an active member because it’s an important platform to talk about safety, innovation and the things that are important, not only to our industry but the broader community as an essential service.”

Olivia Corrado & Stefan Oelhafen, Joint Managing Directors of BPW Transpec said their organisation has been proud to be associated with the HVIA for 50 years.

“In today’s climate we are aware more than at any time previously of the importance of industry groups to be the active and effective voice of its members.”

Managing Director Martin Merrick said Volvo Group Australia is thrilled to be celebrating 50 years of ongoing collaboration with HVIA.

“Our shared values of driving a safer, more productive transport industry is a key factor in our successful partnership.”

Penske Australia Managing Director Hamish Christie-Johnson said their longstanding membership has been key to showcasing their brands to the road transport industry.

“We look forward to many more years to come of our membership with HVIA,” he said.

Header image: Founding member and CVIAQ’s first president, Ted Van Fleet (Australian Truck Sales) opening the 1970 Queensland Truck Show

The extraordinary legacy of the six

CVIAQ Presidents

  • Bob Slack – Volvo Australia (1972 – 1974)
  • Barry Bonnitcha – MAN Automotive (1982 – 1985)
  • Earl Russ – Russ Engineering (1985 – 1987)
  • Mark Johnston – Haulmark Trailers (1994 – 1998)
  • Ray Smithers – Mack Trucks Australia (1999 – 2003)

Signatories on the Constitution

(Those who were part of the six founding members)

  • Bob Slack – Volvo Australia
  • Bernie Quinn – Haulmark Trailers
  • Robert Cavendish – MAN Automotive

First CVIAQ Committee

formed in 1970 included:

  • Bob Slack – Volvo Australia
  • Bernie Quinn – Haulmark Trailers
  • Robert Cavendish – MAN Automotive (now Penske Australia)
  • N. Keay – International Harvester (now Iveco)
  • M. Simpson – Transpec (now BPW Transpec)
HVIA National Awards attract strong field

HVIA members have responded to the opportunity to have their teams and innovation acknowledged. HVIA Chief Executive Todd Hacking said…

A tribute to 50 years of membership: 1970-2020

Congratulations to the six member companies that have been continuous HVIA (& CVIAQ) members for the past 50 years: Haulmark…

Follow Us