A tribute to 50 years of membership: 1970-2020

Congratulations to the six member companies that have been continuous HVIA (& CVIAQ) members for the past 50 years:

  • Haulmark Trailers (Australia) Pty Ltd
  • IVECO Trucks Australia Ltd
  • BPW Transpec Pty Ltd
  • Volvo Group Australia Pty Ltd
  • Russ Engineering Pty Ltd
  • Penske Transport Group International Pty Ltd.

What do you remember about 1970?

A reminder of what the Australia was like when all this began

Founding member and CVIAQ’s first president, Ted Van Fleet (Australian Truck Sales) opening the 1970 Queensland Truck Show

“The formation of the CVIAQ was the first very important step in the development and professionalism of our great industry.

“The founders and early members of the CVIAQ had great vision and passion for the industry.

“Undoubtedly, the true value of this association is watching a room full of industry competitors all working together for the common good of the industry, not the individual.”

Former CVIAQ President Mark Johnston of Haulmark Trailers

“BPW Transpec has been proud to be associated with the HVIA for 50 years.

“In today’s climate we are aware more than at any time previously of the importance of industry groups to be the active and effective voice of its members.”

Olivia Corrado & Stefan Oelhafen, Joint Managing Directors of BPW Transpec

Early CVIAQ member meeting

Earle Russ was CVIAQ President from 1985 – 1987 and was awarded a CVIAQ life membership in 1987 for his long standing service to the industry.

M.A.N. won stand-of-the-show at the Queensland Truck & Machinery Show in 1983

The first two truck shows were held at Haulmark Trailers in Wacol.
CVIAQ Charity Auction Dinner in 2006

The CVIAQ merchandise range for the well-dressed man

The extraordinary legacy of the six

These six members who are celebrating 50 years of continuous membership have left a lasting legacy through their extraordinary contributions in many ways.

CVIAQ Presidents

  • Bob Slack – Volvo Australia (1972 – 1974)
  • Barry Bonnitcha – MAN Automotive (1982 – 1985)
  • Earl Russ – Russ Engineering (1985 – 1987)
  • Mark Johnston – Haulmark Trailers (1994 – 1998)
  • Ray Smithers – Mack Trucks Australia (1999 – 2003)

Signatories on the Constitution

(Those who were part of the six founding members)

  • Bob Slack – Volvo Australia
  • Bernie Quinn – Haulmark Trailers
  • Robert Cavendish – MAN Automotive

First CVIAQ Committee

formed in 1970 included:

  • Bob Slack – Volvo Australia
  • Bernie Quinn – Haulmark Trailers
  • Robert Cavendish – MAN Automotive (now Penske Australia)
  • N. Keay – International Harvester (now Iveco)
  • M. Simpson – Transpec (now BPW Transpec)
Celebrating HVIA Membership for 50 years

Six members of Heavy Vehicle Industry Australia are being celebrated for fifty years of continuous membership. HVIA President John Drake…

Help make freight transport more productive

The Australian Government is calling on freight operators to help improve key freight routes by giving feedback on local government…

Follow Us