2019 HVIA Safety Innovation Award Winner

The 2019 HVIA Safety Innovation Award (sponsored by Moreton Hire) was awarded to Cummins South Pacific for their Crankshaft Adaptor Drill Kit & Crankshaft Adaptor Gear Drill Kit developed by Neil Kinder.

HVIA’s Safety Innovation Award is a dual stream award that recognises members who have either:

  • implemented a new product or system in their workplace, which has made that site or their business safer or
  • designed or manufactured a piece of equipment, component, technology or another safety solution that makes the heavy vehicle industry safer.

Previously Cummins had seen repairs which injured technicians; a technician injured using the old removal method, where the long hand drill had grabbed the gear pulley, twisted the drill and resulted in a facial injury to the technician.

The kits are used to support a magnetic drill which can drill holes in a crankshaft adapter and gear (which are hardened steel) in 10 minutes instead of the 10 hours it previously took using long hand drill operation.

The kits address line-of-fire, fatigue and incorrect body posture hazards when undertaking this activity on an in-chassis repair.

The solution has been fantastic for Cummins as there had been no injuries or incidents to their employees undertaking this task.

It has also resulted in an on average 80% time reduction and where previously it took two technicians to undertake the task, now only one is required.

Nominations are now open for the 2020 HVIA National Awards. They are open to HVIA member companies and their employees, across Australia.

Full details of each award can be accessed via the button below.

The awards will be presented at the HVIA Gala Awards Dinner in Brisbane on 20 November 2020.

Nomination close on 21 August 2020.

2019 HVIA Product Innovation Award Winner

HVIA's Product Innovation Award recognises members who have designed and utilised new technology or built an innovative product to address…

2019 Community Leadership Award Winner

HVIA's Community Leadership Award recognises members who have engaged positively with the community. The member may have implemented ongoing stakeholder…

Follow Us